Harry Haythorne Fund Donors

Harry Haythorne Fund Donors

From time to time, the Ballet Foundation will fundraise for a specific fund or project, let by a need or to mark a special occasion.

We are pleased to acknowledge contributions to generous contributions to the Harry Haythorne Fund.

Contributions to the Harry Haythorne Fund were made by:

  • John Avery
  • Elizabeth Bleby (in memory of Meg Abbie Denton)
  • Mariette Carey and Ron Fung
  • Rowena Davies and Caroline Crawford
  • Nan Durrans
  • Camilla Ella
  • Errol Gardiner
  • Harry Haythorne
  • Richard and Sally Jarman
  • Leigh Jones
  • Janet and Ron Marsh
  • Adrienne Matheson
  • Michael Metzger
  • Andrew Pfeiffer
  • Danilo Radojevic and Lucinda Dunn
  • Edith Radojevic
  • Bill Sheat
  • Jean Stewart

About Harry Haythorne

Harry was the Artistic Director of the Royal New Zealand Ballet from 1981 – 1992. Before his death, he made a generous donation to the Foundation. Upon his death in November 2014, in lieu of flowers, and in accordance with his wishes, his executors asked for donations in his memory to be made to The Ballet Foundation of New Zealand.

In 2015, The Ballet Foundation decided, in partnership with the Royal New Zealand Ballet, to support a choreographic season in his name and held the inaugural Harry Haythorne Choreographic Award. The Trustees hope that, subject to continued funding, this will become an annual event.

New choreography is pure oxygen for any dance company. Through Harry’s personal generosity and that of his many friends and colleagues, The Harry Haythorne Choreographic Award was created by the Ballet Foundation of New Zealand in memory of the RNZB’s longest serving Artistic Director. The Award gives choreographers within the company the opportunity to develop choreographic ideas and works.

Make a Donation to the Royal New Zealand Ballet Foundation

We are grateful for your donation to help us create a sustainable fund for ballet in New Zealand.

Former Soloists Katherine Skelton and Madeleine Graham in The Ryman Healthcare Season of The Sleeping Beauty, 2020. Photo: Stephen A’Court.